July Sale

My publisher has put my novel The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller on sale for the month of July. Only on Smashwords, however. Click here to go have a look.

1960’s London: British Intelligence agent Peter Stoller is next in line to run the Agency—until he falls in love with cab driver, Charles, and his life goes off the road. When Charles is accused of treason, Peter is guilty by association. Peter manages to extract them both, but the seeds of doubt have been planted, putting Peter’s mind and heart at war. Is ignorance truly bliss or merely deadly?

IWSG: Too Much = Not Enough

It’s time again for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. Read and support writers by clicking here, and if you’re a writer you can also join!

I currently have three different writing projects in the works. Meanwhile, I’m also being slammed by one son’s baseball schedule and the other son’s physical therapy appointments as he learns to walk again after breaking his leg. I can hardly find two minutes to rub together, and when I do, I barely get warmed up before I have to get up and do something else. These days I’m lucky if I even get a paragraph written on any given day. I don’t know how I’ll ever finish writing any of my books!

Sorry for venting, but this is what I’m insecure about this month. Getting my writing done. Prioritizing my projects.

This month’s question: Have you taken advantage of the annual A to Z Challenge in terms of marketing, networking, publicity for your book? What were the results?

I’ve participated in A to Z twice. Once as an addendum to my Peter Stoller novellas (this was before The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller was published by Tirgearr), and once as the start of a sequel to The K-Pro. I don’t know that I’d call these “marketing” though the goal was to create greater awareness for the source materials. It’s not clear to me whether it worked in terms of getting people to buy and/or read either St. Peter in Chains or The K-Pro, though I did get a lot of site traffic and a few people have asked whether that K-Pro sequel will ever get written. The answer is: maybe? It’s still on my list of potential projects.

By the way, did you know this is also Read Self-Published Month? Visit the Facebook group to find out more and find some great new reads! And don’t forget you can read Brynnde for FREE via Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited!

Prizes!

One of my publishers is having a birthday party. Tirgearr is now five years old, but they’re giving the presents to YOU. Click here to enter to win books (print and ebooks are on offer) and t-shirts. [Note: Rafflecopter opens at midnight GMT.] Also, my novel The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller will be discounted to just 99 cents during the celebrations. So if you haven’t already grabbed a copy, now is the time! (UK link is here.)

WIP Wednesday

Here’s just a little fun I was having with Simeon, Peter and Jules:

“Peter, Peter, wherefore art thou?”

The calling startled Simeon from the paperwork he’d been trying to decipher. He looked up just in time to see a man he did not recognize come dashing around the corner from the elevators. Average height, dark and springy hair, swarthy skin… Greek, maybe? Turkish? Italian? He had no accent, and God knew he was loud enough that Simeon would have heard if he did; if not for the fact they were the only ones on the floor, Simeon would have worried about the man drawing unwanted attention. As it stood, he wondered how the man had got into the building.

“Is he in there?” the man asked, pointing at the door behind Simeon, and without waiting for an answer, the man went for the door and tried the knob.

“It’s locked,” said the man. He looked over his shoulder at Simeon. “He’s in there, I know it. You have a key?”

Simeon reached for the phone instead. “If I can just tell him who—”

“He doesn’t have someone in with him, does he?” the man went on. He slammed a fist against the heavy wood of the door. “Peter! It’s Jules!”

With a sigh, Simeon dropped the phone. No point in it now.

Peter’s door flew open. “What in God’s name, Maier?” Peter snapped. “You’re not meant to be in the country at the moment, much less here.”

Jules Maier. The name rang a bell. Simeon was sure he’d heard of him, just couldn’t remember in what context.

“Trade the old one in for a new model?” Jules asked.

“Mr. Martin is only my assistant,” Peter said matter-of-factly and, feeling their appraisal, Simeon turned in his chair for a look at the two men. Peter was taller—but then, he was taller than just about anyone—and fairer, positively angelic next to all the dark elements that comprised Jules.

Nothing good, Simeon decided. He’d heard nothing good about Jules Maier.

I was considering writing something a little steamier than my usual, maybe as a short story companion to The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller? It remains to be seen if I’m even capable of that. Could be a fun exercise, though.

And if you haven’t read Peter yet, you should! Check my Books page or find various ebook retailers linked here.

So Much Stuff!

I hope everyone had a lovely Thanksgiving (if they observed that holiday), and are now having just as lovely a weekend, whether shopping or hiding from the crowds. No need to go out for any of these things I’m about to share with you, though!

  1. Look to the sidebar on the right and you’ll see that there is a Goodreads giveaway going on for Manifesting Destiny. I’m giving away three signed paperback copies, and each will also come with a bookmark and temporary tattoo. Giveaway runs through December 9.
  2. For the holidays, you can now pick up my Sherlock Holmes stories, The K-Pro, and my anthology The World Ends at Five for 99 cents each on Amazon! If you like supporting indie businesses, please consider also supporting indie authors!
  3. I discuss literary fiction on Jay Lemming’s site today. I consider The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller to be literary because of the way it’s written. What do you think? How do you define literary fiction, and is it a dying genre or merely exclusive (and exclusionary)? Swing by to see what I have to say about it!

That’s all the news that is news for the moment. I’m closing in on finishing Brynnde, too. Can’t wait to present her to you!

Happy Holiday Season!

Virtual Book Fair

Today the Virtual Book Fair kicks off on Facebook. Visit my “booth” here. You can win prizes: an Amazon gift card, an ebook of your choice, or a signed copy of Manifesting Destiny. Enter two ways, (1) Liking my Facebook page and (2) signing up for my newsletter. If you do both, you get two entries. See how easy it is? Winners chosen at random on November 18.

thumb_img_5115_1024

And, yeah, The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller is just 99 cents on Amazon (both US and UK sites) throughout the weekend. So go grab it now if you haven’t already!

While you’re here, I’m going to enter another plea for your help with these kitties. They’re not looking for homes, just looking to stay in the home they already have. Please consider donating, and if you can’t do that, at least spread the word. Or buy the shirt and, as I’ve mentioned, if you email me a copy of your receipt I’ll send you a copy of one of my books as a thank-you.

Look, Tom Hiddleston loves kitties. You should, too!
Look, Tom Hiddleston loves kitties. You should, too!

(Note that Mr. Hiddleston has in no way endorsed this gofundme. But maybe he would if he knew?)

Feast or Famine

I’ve found this to be so true in my writing life. Either I’ve got nothing or there are a dozen projects going on at once.

At the moment I’m working on the second Changers book. I’ve had some eager readers asking for it, which makes me so happy because it means they really did like the first one. (BTW, the latest Amazon review stated that the reviewer would recommend Manifesting Destiny for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. How flattering is that?!) I’m also keen to finish my Regency romance novel Brynnde which feels as if it’s been very close to done for a long time now yet somehow just keeps going.

And now I’ve been fielding questions about whether there will be a sequel to Peter. I love that book and those characters and that world, but it didn’t sell very well. ::sad face:: I do think I want to write at least one more book, maybe two, maybe more, and I’ve even started on that process, but I can’t prioritize it at the moment. Still, very heartwarming to know at least a few people enjoyed it.

Finally, it also seems that screenwriting stuff is heating up again after being on the back burner for a while. I have fresh interest in a couple of my scripts and another content creator asking if I’d consider helping her write her series. And another screenwriting project is inching closer to pre-production with talks about potential casting. Wow! Always nice, if exhausting, to be in demand. Make hay while the sun shines and all that.

As we get ready to hurdle Hallowe’en and slide toward Thanksgiving, I have much to be grateful for. This is certainly a feast for me, at least in terms of creative work. Thank you, readers and fellows, for all the encouragement! You feed my soul!

InD’Scribe So Far…

Having a lovely time in Burbank at the InD’Scribe Author and Reader Conference! Of course, it’s mostly been authors, but we’re hoping now it’s the weekend we’ll see some more readers.

I arrived Thursday afternoon, knowing no one, but have found (like with so many other writers’ conferences) the people to be very friendly and welcoming. Still, there are a lot of us, and one sometimes feels lost in the shuffle. But the first night was the Enchanted Dreamweaver’s Ball, and it was like they’d brought Livian to life! He stood near the entrance, and yes, I tried to kiss him.

14595781_10207559912695275_478005626241183701_n

I was all dolled up thanks to Period Images who did my hair and makeup and from whom I rented my Regency gown.

They also had book cover models on hand so that we could take pictures with them. When he said, “Trust me on this one,” and dipped me, I think my swoon was a little too real:

14492607_1761620514087883_9052518918086096719_n

He has a lot of practice, I guess.

Yesterday I set up my author table, but then they moved me, so I don’t have a picture yet of my “real” setup. Will post later! I also sat on a panel about villains:

14611086_1762165300700071_1047064676860894930_n

From left: Andy Peloquin, Kathryn Le Veque, Beth Carter, Yours Truly, Arial Burnz

I’m on another panel today and then there’s more time in the author room where I’ve been making great friends. Check out Caroline Warfield, with whom I’ve had some great chats, and if you like Manifesting Destiny give D.B. Sieders a try with her mermaid books. (Though, to be clear, her books are not YA.)

And don’t forget! Two of my Sherlock Holmes stories are free this weekend, and The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller is only 99 cents on Amazon! Click here to go to my Amazon page and grab some goodies!

Peter On Sale & Sherlock Holmes FREE

For a limited time, you can pick up The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller for just 99 cents on Amazon! Click here to grab it.

In 1960’s London, British Intelligence agent Peter Stoller is next in line to run the Agency—until he falls in love with cab driver, Charles, and his life goes off the road. When Charles is accused of treason, Peter is guilty by association. Peter manages to extract them both, but the seeds of doubt have been planted, putting Peter’s mind and heart at war. Is ignorance truly bliss or merely deadly?

If you like John Le Carré and stories of that ilk—”upmarket espionage” in which the plot is there but character is central—then give Peter a try!

Also, you can grab a couple of my Sherlock Holmes stories (written in the style of Doyle) for FREE on Amazon this weekend. Click here to visit my Amazon author page, and feel free to follow me there so you know when new stuff is out!